Children's Literature (all forms)

Call for Suggestions — 2021 Geisel Award

The 2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award committee invites ALSC members to suggest books published in 2020 for consideration. The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. Authors and illustrators must be U.S. citizens or residents. Other terms and criteria can be found on the ALSC website. Send your suggestions to Lori Coffey Hancock, the Chair of the 2021 Geisel Award committee, via email ( by October 30, 2020. Lori Coffey Hancock is a school librarian for The Lexington School, a preschool through eighth grade private school in Lexington, Kentucky and the chair of the 2021 (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award Selection Committee. This blog relates to ALSC Core Competency: Knowledge, Curation, and Management of Materials.

Author Spotlight

Be Inspired By the 2016 ALSC Award Speeches!

Download Rafael Lopez' Belpre Acceptance Speech

Did you miss the ALSC media award acceptance speeches in Orlando? Or just want to enjoy them again at your leisure? PDFs of the Batchelder, Belpré, Caldecott, Carnegie, Geisel, Newbery, Sibert, and Wilder acceptance remarks are available below. Thanks to ALSC Marketing Intern Elizabeth Taft, we’ve also provided some images with quotes below. These inspiring quotes show the passion and dedication authors and illustrators bring to children’s literature. Download PDFs         Download PDFs    

ALA Annual 2015

Distinguished and Diverse: Celebrate the 2015 ALSC Honor Books

ALSC and the ALSC Awards Preconference Pilot Program Task Force want to remind Annual attendees that registration slots for the 2015 ALSC preconference program are still avaialable. This program takes place 11:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. Friday, June 26, 2015, at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. The program, entitled Distinguished and Diverse: Celebrate the 2015 ALSC Honor Books, will spotlight 2015 Honor Book recipients for the Newbery, Caldecott, Batchelder, Pura Belpré, Sibert and Geisel awards. The keynote speaker for the program is K.T. Horning, and there will be a panel facilitated by Judy Freeman. The event will feature authors, illustrators and editors such as: Cece Bell Jacqueline Woodson Lauren Castillo Mary GrandPré Candace Fleming Yuyi Morales Jillian Tamaki Katherine Roy John Parra Patricia Hruby Powell Mark Siegel Christian Robinson, Jon Klassen Melissa Sweet This is the first year that such a preconference will be held. The charge…

ALA Annual 2014

Experience the Book & Media Award Acceptance Speeches

The 2014 ALSC book and media award acceptance speeches evoked plenty of emotion. Some were funny and warm. Some were emotional and informative. You can read them yourself on the ALSC website! Download a copy of the PDF of each of the speeches: Batchelder [PDF – 1 MB] Belpré [PDF – 2.3 MB] Caldecott [PDF – 2 MB] Carnegie [PDF – 1 MB] Geisel [PDF – 1.4 MB] Newbery [PDF – 2 MB] Sibert [PDF – 1.1 MB] You can also watch reaction videos from the 2014 ALA Youth Media Award winners. Videos of the award speech presentations and inspiration videos that concluded the banquet will be posted soon.

ALA Midwinter 2012

Youth Media Awards at #alamw12

Once more, ALA’s Youth Media Awards — the crí¨me de la crí¨me of the children’s and YA book communities — met expectations. Early this morning, hundreds of young people’s literature enthusiasts filled the Dallas Convention Center Theater to hear the Awards announced. There were some surprises, but the committees had to feel good as they heard the shrieks of excitement as each award winner was made known. Want to see which titles won?  Click here for the official press release. Congratulations to all the winners. And THANK YOU  to all the committee members for your hard work! You are appreciated!