Awards & Scholarships

It’s Time to Make Wilder Recommendations!

Like many of you, I look forward every year to the announcement of the Youth Media Awards. One of the special moments during that early morning in January is hearing names of authors and illustrators who have been changing children’s lives with their books for many years. I stood and cheered in Atlanta last month for the announcement of Nikki Grimes as winner of the 2017 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, and now I am excited to ask for the help of ASLC members as we consider authors and illustrators for the 2018 Award. Take a look at the list of past winners of the Wilder Award – is there an author or illustrator who you think especially deserves to have their name on that list? Someone you’re astonished to see has not already been honored, or maybe someone whose contributions to children’s literature you feel are consistently overlooked? All personal…

Author Spotlight

Be Inspired By the 2016 ALSC Award Speeches!

Download Rafael Lopez' Belpre Acceptance Speech

Did you miss the ALSC media award acceptance speeches in Orlando? Or just want to enjoy them again at your leisure? PDFs of the Batchelder, Belpré, Caldecott, Carnegie, Geisel, Newbery, Sibert, and Wilder acceptance remarks are available below. Thanks to ALSC Marketing Intern Elizabeth Taft, we’ve also provided some images with quotes below. These inspiring quotes show the passion and dedication authors and illustrators bring to children’s literature. Download PDFs         Download PDFs    

Awards & Scholarships

Wilder Times Ahead!

Beverly Cleary                                           Ashley Bryan Katherine Paterson                                  E.B. White Donald Crews                                            Jean Fritz Virginia Hamilton                                     Jerry Pinkney What do all these talented people have in common? They are just a few recipients of the Laura Ingalls Wilder award, presented  to “an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.” First given in 1954 to Laura Ingalls Wilder, the award was originally presented every five years and has evolved; it is now given annually. What author or illustrator do you think has made their mark on American children’s literature?  The 2017 Wilder Committee is seeking your suggestions of  authors and illustrators to be considered for next year’s award. Has your favorite author been recognized already? Check out the entire list of previous Wilder medal recipients. If not, let us know who you are thinking of and why! So what…

ALA Annual 2015

Newbery-Caldecott-Wilder Banquet Videos

The award acceptance videos from the 2015 Newbery-Caldecott-Wilder Banquet are now available. These speeches took place at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. Below are the three videos from each of the winners. You can also watch the video of the full banquet (running time 1 hour 45 minutes 54 seconds). Enjoy! Kwame Alexander – Newbery Speech Dan Santat – Caldecott Speech Donald Crews – Wilder Speech

ALSC Board

2014 ALSC Election Results

Many thanks to all of the candidates who ran for division office this year. These folks put their time and talents up for the division and we thank them. Here are the results from the 2014 ALSC Elections: Vice President/President-elect Andrew Medlar Board of Director Doris Gebel Julie Roach Kay Weisman 2016 Caldecott Committee Lauren, Anduri Alan Bailey Brian Fahey Jill Bellomy Karen MacPherson Sarah Bean Thompson Tess Prendergast Tessa Michaelson-Schmidt 2016 Newbery Committee Allie Jane Bruce Cheryl Lee Christine Scheper Destinee Sutton Eric Barbus Joanna Ward Shawn Brommer Ty Burns 2016 Sibert Committee Alan Bern Eric Gomez Grace Ruth Nick Glass Susan Lempke 2017 Wilder Committee Maria Gentle Carolyn Phelan Kathleen Isaacs To learn more about ALA’s election results, please visit the ALA Election Information page.