- ALA Annual Conference 2022

#alaac22 ALSC Awards Presentation

What a wonderful way to start my day at the conference today! This morning I attended the 2022 ALSC Awards Presentation for the the Siebert, Batchelder, and Geisel winners. What a treat to see so many librarians, authors, illustrators, publishers, friends and families in one room honoring such beautiful books. What I loved most about this celebration was hearing such humble speeches from the winning authors and the care and craft that was taken by the committees to select them. Some of my favorite moments:

Children's Literature (all forms)

Call for Suggestions — 2021 Geisel Award

The 2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award committee invites ALSC members to suggest books published in 2020 for consideration. The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. Authors and illustrators must be U.S. citizens or residents. Other terms and criteria can be found on the ALSC website. Send your suggestions to Lori Coffey Hancock, the Chair of the 2021 Geisel Award committee, via email (loricoffeyhancock@gmail.com) by October 30, 2020. Lori Coffey Hancock is a school librarian for The Lexington School, a preschool through eighth grade private school in Lexington, Kentucky and the chair of the 2021 (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award Selection Committee. This blog relates to ALSC Core Competency: Knowledge, Curation, and Management of Materials.