Blogger Elizabeth Serrano

2019 ALSC Election Results

2019 results graphic
On Wednesday April 10, 2019 ALSC announced the 2019 Election results. A huge thank you to all candidates who stood for election and for your active involvement with ALSC. We appreciate your commitment to library service to children!

Now, the 2020 Nominating and Leadership Development Committee is seeking nominations from personal ALSC members for another group of amazingly engaged and talented members for the 2020 ballot. The nomination form for the 2020 ballot is now open and will close on April 19! This ballot will be voted on in the spring of 2020.

2019 ALSC Election Results:


Kirby McCurtis, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Oregon

Fiscal Officer

Amber Creger, Schaumburg Township District Library, Schaumburg, Illinois

“New-to-ALSC” Board Director

Maggie Jacobs, New York Public Library, New York, New York

Board Director

April Mazza, Massachusetts Library System, Natick, Massachusetts

Caldecott Committee, 2021

Carmen Lynette Boston, D C Public Library, Washington, DC
Edie Ching, Silver Spring, Maryland
Alec Chunn, Eugene Public Library, Eugene, Oregon
Melissa Depper, Arapahoe Library District, Centennial, Colorado
Hanna Lee, Oxford, MS
Erin Nguyen, Knox County Public Library, Knoxville, Tennessee
Sarah Okner, Vernon Area Public Library, Vernon Hills, Illinois
Mary Schreiber, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Parma, Ohio

Newbery Committee, 2021

Arika Dickens, Bellevue School District, Bellevue, Washington
Joanna K. Fabicon, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, California
Hyunjin Han, Mandel Public Library, West Palm Beach, Florida
Susan Dove Lempke, Niles-Maine District Library, Niles, Illinois
Linda M. Pavonetti, Oakland University, Rochester, Michigan
David Saia, Heim Middle School, Williamsville, New York
Eva Thaler-Sroussi, Needham, Massachusetts
Sarah Bean Thompson, Springfield-Greene County Library, Springfield, Missouri

Sibert Committee, 2021

Ingha Chopra, Santa Monica Public Library, Santa Monica, California
Maria Cotto, Pawtucket Public Library, Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Andrea Vaughn Johnson, Chicago, Illinois
Angelique Kopa, Towson, Maryland
Cheryl Perez Shrake, Chicago, Illinois

Children’s Literature Legacy Committee, 2021

Betsy Bird, Evanston Public Library, Evanston, Illinois
Chelsea Couillard-Smith, Hennepin County Library, Minnetonka, MN
Jonathan Hunt, San Diego County Office of Education, San Diego, California

Many thanks to all candidates who agreed to stand for election and to all those who voted!

ALSC also sincerely thanks the 2019 Nominating and Leadership Development Committee:
Andrew Medlar, Chair
Prof. Alan Bailey
Dr. Sarah Park Dahlen
Sharon McKellar
Gail Sheldon

One comment

  1. Jonathan Dolce

    always a bride’s maid… ; )) JK! Congrats to our new team members! It’s a tough road to hoe, but these are just the joe’s to hoe it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.