Blogger Maria Trivisonno

Vote for Books!

Or rather, books about voting. How can we engage our young customers in the electoral process, and start imparting the importance of voting upon them at a young age? This would be the time to do a mock election at your branch—Peanut Butter or Jelly?  Chocolate or vanilla?  I recall seeing this great blog that had a secret voting booth and everything!  But this year, however…EVERYTHING is different, again thanks to the pandemic.  One thing that remains, though, is that publishers put out election-friendly books for kids during our presidential election year.  And today, I’m going to take a look at a few of them. First, for the picture book set: Jonathan London’s Froggy for President. Froggy is so excited to run for class president that he leaves his house in only his underwear and is once again saved by his reliable mom.  Of course, Frogilina would run against him,…

Blogger Elizabeth Serrano

2019 ALSC Election Results

2019 results graphic

On Wednesday April 10, 2019 ALSC announced the 2019 Election results. A huge thank you to all candidates who stood for election and for your active involvement with ALSC. We appreciate your commitment to library service to children! Now, the 2020 Nominating and Leadership Development Committee is seeking nominations from personal ALSC members for another group of amazingly engaged and talented members for the 2020 ballot. The nomination form for the 2020 ballot is now open and will close on April 19! This ballot will be voted on in the spring of 2020. 2019 ALSC Election Results: Vice-President/President-Elect Kirby McCurtis, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Oregon Fiscal Officer Amber Creger, Schaumburg Township District Library, Schaumburg, Illinois “New-to-ALSC” Board Director Maggie Jacobs, New York Public Library, New York, New York Board Director April Mazza, Massachusetts Library System, Natick, Massachusetts Caldecott Committee, 2021 Carmen Lynette Boston, D C Public Library, Washington, DC Edie Ching,…

Blogger Dan Bostrom

2016 ALSC Election Results

Many thanks to all of the candidates who ran for division office this year. We appreciate their willingness to put their names forward for the division. Here are the results from the 2016 ALSC elections: Vice President/President-Elect Nina Lindsay, Oakland Public Library, Oakland, CA Board of Directors Karen MacPherson, Takoma Park Maryland Library, Takoma Park, MD New to ALSC Board of Directors Amy Koester, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL Fiscal Officer Paula Holmes, Upper St. Clair Library Board, Upper St Clair, PA Newbery 2018 Committee Angie Manfredi, Los Alamos County Library System, Los Alamos, NM Sujei Lugo, Boston Public Library, Jamaica Plain, MA Thaddeus Andracki, University of Chicago Laboratory Schools, Chicago, IL Janice Del Negro, Dominican University GSLIS, River Forest, IL Catharine Potter, Falmouth Elementary School, Falmouth, ME Carol Goldman, Queens Library, Forest Hills, NY Mara Alpert, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, CA Susan Giffard, Ethical Culture School, New…

ALSC Board

2014 ALSC Election Results

Many thanks to all of the candidates who ran for division office this year. These folks put their time and talents up for the division and we thank them. Here are the results from the 2014 ALSC Elections: Vice President/President-elect Andrew Medlar Board of Director Doris Gebel Julie Roach Kay Weisman 2016 Caldecott Committee Lauren, Anduri Alan Bailey Brian Fahey Jill Bellomy Karen MacPherson Sarah Bean Thompson Tess Prendergast Tessa Michaelson-Schmidt 2016 Newbery Committee Allie Jane Bruce Cheryl Lee Christine Scheper Destinee Sutton Eric Barbus Joanna Ward Shawn Brommer Ty Burns 2016 Sibert Committee Alan Bern Eric Gomez Grace Ruth Nick Glass Susan Lempke 2017 Wilder Committee Maria Gentle Carolyn Phelan Kathleen Isaacs To learn more about ALA’s election results, please visit the ALA Election Information page.