Awards & Scholarships

2024 Legacy Award Committee Seeking Suggestions

Hello, this is Caroline Ward, chair of the 2024 Children’s Literature Legacy Award. Our committee is now accepting suggestions for the Legacy Award from ALSC members. The deadline for submitting suggestions is April 15, 2023.

Legacy Award seal

The Legacy Award recognizes an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States,
have over a period of years made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children
through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.
Past recipients include Ashley Bryan, Katherine Paterson, Tomie dePaola, and Jerry Pinkney. 

For more information about the Legacy Award and a list of past winners, visit the ALSC website at Click on “Awards and Grants” in the left-hand navigation bar; then click on
ALSC Book and Media Awards,” Next scroll down to the “Children’s Literature Legacy Award Home
Page” to learn more specifics about the award.

If you have someone you would like to suggest, please consider doing so. Our committee will greatly
appreciate input from ALSC members and looks forward to having a robust list of names to consider.

The 2024 Legacy Award will be presented at the press conference during the LibLearnX Conference in
January 2024.

If you wish to submit a suggestion, please send the name/s to Caroline Ward email:

Thank you so much! Caroline

Today’s post was written by Caroline Ward, chair of the 2024 Children’s Literature Legacy Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *