ALA Midwinter 2020

The YMA’s are coming! Prediction Round Up #alscleftbehind #alaleftbehind

The YMA’s are coming, The YMA’s are coming. THE YMA’S ARE COMING!

As the 2020 Youth Media Awards are less than eight hours away- most committee members are hopefully in bed after surviving the day without blabbing the big news and getting sleep before the ever-exciting phone call to the lucky winners. As for me, I’m using every minute to continue to get predictions in because- why not? And statistics are fun, especially mocks/ Youth Media Award related statistics!

Betsy Bird switched up her predictions this year by dividing into categories, Heavy Medal did the full balloting process, Colby Sharp made a video of his picks,

I decided to take all of the winners of the ALSC submitted results and find the winners among those! I went through every category and awarded four points to every medalist and three points to the honor winner. My list includes the clear winners from those. For titles with no clear winner, there are multiple honor books and for categories where only one organization submitted results- all their results win. So take a look and we’ll see how this matches up tomorrow!


Mock Caldecott Winner: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir NelsonTHE UNDEFEATED COVER and written by Kwame Alexander.

Mock Caldecott Honor Books: Camp Tiger illustrated by John Rocco and written by Susan Choi.

A Stone Sat Still, written and illustrated by Brendan Wenzel.

Bear Came Along, illustrated by LeUyen Pham and written by Richard T. Morris.

Mock Newbery Winner: New Kid by Jerry Craft.

Mock Newbery Honor Books: Look Both Ways, by Jason Reynolds.

Pay Attention, Carter Jones, by Gary Schmidt.

Mock CSK Author Winner: New Kid by Jerry Craft. New Kid Book Cover

Mock CSK Author Honor Books: 

The Bell Rang, by James E. Ransome

Genesis Begins Again, by Alicia D. Williams.

Mock CSK Illustrator Winner: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Mock CSK Illustrator Honor Books: The Bell Rang, by James E. Ransome

What is Given from the Heart, written by Patricia C. Mckissack and illustrated by April Harrison.

Mock CSK/John Steptoe Illustrator Winner: When Aidan Became a Brother, illustrated by Kaylani Juanita and written by Kyle Lukoff

Mock Geisel Winner: no clear winner

Mock Geisel Honor Books: Fox & Chick: The Quiet Boat Ride by Sergio Ruzzier.

Charlie and Mouse Even Better by Laurel Snyder and illustrated by Emily Hughes.

Bunny Will Not Smile! by Jason Tharp.

Mock Printz Winner: Thirteen Doorways: Wolves Behind Them All, by Laura Ruby.

Mock Printz Honor Books: Lovely War by Julie Berry.

Dig, by A.S. King.

Mock Sibert Winner: no clear winner

Mock Sibert Honor Books: Just Right: Searching for the Goldilocks Planet by Curtis Manley and illustrated by Jessica Lanan.

It Feels Good to Be Yourself: A Book About Gender Identity by Theresa Thom, illustrated by Noah Grigni.

Mock Pura Belpré Author Winner: My Papi has a Motorcycle, written by Isabel Quintero.

Mock Pura Belpré Author Honor Book: Where Are You From?, written by Yamile Saied Méndez

Mock Pura Belpré Illustrator Winner: My Papi has a Motorcycle, written by Isabel Quintero.

Mock Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor Book: ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, by Raúl the Third.

Mock Batchelder Winner: When Spring Comes to the DMZ, by Uk-Bae Lee

Mock Batchelder Honor Books:

Beast Player, by Nahoko Uehashi.

The Runaways, written by Ulf Starrk, illustrated by Kitty Crowder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *