ALSC Board

ALA Youth Media Awards

On Monday morning, January 10, 2011, The American Library Association (ALA) will announce its Youth Media Awards as part of the midwinter conference. Beginning at 7:45 am PST, nineteen different awards will be announced including:

  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards which honors African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to “the African American experience via literature and illustration.”
  • John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year.
  • Michael L. Printz Award awarded to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year.
  • Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year.
  • Schneider Family Book Award which honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
  • Theodore Seuss Geisel Award is given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year

For the first time,  the Stonewall Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award will also be announced as part of the ALA Youth Media Awards. This award is administered by the ALA’s Stonewall Book Awards Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Round Table and is awarded annually to English-language works for children and teens of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered experience.

To allow as many interested people as possible the opportunity to hear the announcements, the ALA will provide a free live webcast. The number of available connections for the webcast are limited. Online visitors interested in following the announcements live can bookmark Visitors can begin logging in to the webcast at 7:30 am PST; the Youth Media Awards will begin at 7:45 am PST.

It’s always an exciting time!  Hope you can join us!

— posted by Mary R. Voors


  1. Abby

    Last year I watched the live webcast in my pajamas, tucked under my cozy flannel sheets – a wonderful way to experience the awards. This year I’ll be watching it in person!

  2. pragmaticmom

    How exciting. This year I will be in my pj’s but next year I hope to be there as well!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *