Awards & Scholarships

Apply for an ALSC Professional Award Today!

Fall is professional award season for ALSC. Every year, more than $100,000 is given away through ALSC’s professional awards, grants, and scholarships. These funds are awarded to deserving individuals and libraries across the country. ALSC has several awards to choose from: Applications open! The Penguin Young Readers Group Award – Due Oct. 1, 2015 Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship – Due Nov. 1, 2015 ALSC Distinguished Service Award – Due Nov. 1, 2015 ALSC Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Grant – Due Nov. 1, 2015 The Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Award – Due Nov. 1, 2015 Opening soon! Light the Way: Library Outreach to the Underserved Grant Bookapalooza

Blogger Dan Bostrom

Apply for the Penguin Young Readers Grant Award

ALSC and the Grants Administration Committee are now accepting online applications for the 2016 Penguin Young Readers Group Awards. This award, made possible by an annual gift from Penguin Young Readers Group, provides a $600 stipend for up to four children’s librarians to attend their first ALA Annual Conference in Orlando. Each applicant will be judged on the following: Involvement in ALSC, as well as any other professional or educational association of which the applicant was a member, officer, chairman, etc.; New programs or innovations started by the applicants at the library in which he/she works; Library experience. Applicants must be personal members of ALSC, as well as ALA members to apply. Deadline for submissions is Thursday, October 1, 2015. For more information about the award requirements and submitting the online application please visit the Penguin Young Readers Group Award Web page.

Awards & Scholarships

Applications open for 2016 Bechtel Fellowship

ALSC and the Special Collections and Bechtel Fellowship Committee are now accepting online applications for the 2015 Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship. The Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children’s librarians to spend a total of four weeks or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature, a part of the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida, Gainesville. The Baldwin Library contains a special collection of 130,000 volumes of children’s literature published mostly before 1950. The fellowship is endowed in memory of Louise Seaman Bechtel and Ruth M. Baldwin and provides a stipend of $4,000. Each applicant will be judge on the following: the description of the topic of study for the fellowship period; the applicants’ demonstration of ongoing commitment to motivating children to read; the applicants’ willingness to spend a total of four weeks in Gainesville. The time spent does not have…