Blogger Nina Lindsay

Volunteer for an ALA Council or Committee Post

Volunteer for ALA Council or an ALA Committee

It’s true, we need you in ALSC, but we also need ALSC members to serve on ALA Committees and Council. James (Jim) G. Neal, American Library Association (ALA) president-elect, recently issued a call encouraging members to volunteer to serve on ALA, Council, and joint committees for the 2017-2018 term (terms start on July 1, 2017). Serving on these committees provides members with important leadership training and networking, as well as the opportunity to contribute to what is commonly internally referred to as “Big ALA.” Jenna Nemec-Loise, ALSC’s member content editor for Everyday Advocacy, said recently of her experience on the ALA Committee on Legislation: “I can attest to the transformative experience I had. I learned so much more about ALA governance and how working closely with colleagues from other ALA divisions can both shape and bolster my advocacy efforts” There are many committees that need volunteers, from Awards to Diversity;…

ALA Midwinter 2015

Kathleen T. Horning is 2015 ALSC DSA recipient #alamw15

Kathleen T. Horning is the 2015 recipient of the Association for Library Service to Children’s (ALSC) Distinguished Service Award. This prestigious award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to library service to children and to ALSC. Horning is the director of the Cooperative Children’s Book Center and in her work there has been a long-time advocate for multiculturalism and diversity in literature for children and teens. She has served ALSC on an organizational level as President, member of the Board of Directors, chair of the Caldecott 75th Anniversary Task Force and co-chair of the pre-conference celebrating 75 years of Caldecott books. As President, she forged strong ties with REFORMA resulting in an annual Pura Belpré Award and strengthening the national Día celebrations. She has also served on many media evaluation and award committees including chairing the 1995 Newbery Committee, and the 1997 Batchelder Committee. She is currently serving…