YMA Favorites

When you’re reading this, a lot of us will be heading or preparing to head to Chicago for ALA Midwinter. There are many things to be excited about during Midwinter–meetings, exhibits, seeing friends. But not a lot actually meets the level of excitement, that the Youth Media Awards. This will be my first YMAs in person! I’m so jazzed. So I thought I’d take a moment and reflect on my favorite winners of past YMAs. Honestly, I could go on for pages and pages about this, but I’ll just do a quick overview because y’all are packing or flying.  My very favorites of the Caldecott Medal, Newbery Medal, and Printz Award Winners: I know this is everyone’s favorite, but it’s totally mine. The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats. It won the 1963 Caldecott award. This book was written over 20 years before I was born, but I adored it as…

ALA Annual 2014

Experience the Book & Media Award Acceptance Speeches

The 2014 ALSC book and media award acceptance speeches evoked plenty of emotion. Some were funny and warm. Some were emotional and informative. You can read them yourself on the ALSC website! Download a copy of the PDF of each of the speeches: Batchelder [PDF – 1 MB] Belpré [PDF – 2.3 MB] Caldecott [PDF – 2 MB] Carnegie [PDF – 1 MB] Geisel [PDF – 1.4 MB] Newbery [PDF – 2 MB] Sibert [PDF – 1.1 MB] You can also watch reaction videos from the 2014 ALA Youth Media Award winners. Videos of the award speech presentations and inspiration videos that concluded the banquet will be posted soon.

ALSC Board

2014 ALSC Election Results

Many thanks to all of the candidates who ran for division office this year. These folks put their time and talents up for the division and we thank them. Here are the results from the 2014 ALSC Elections: Vice President/President-elect Andrew Medlar Board of Director Doris Gebel Julie Roach Kay Weisman 2016 Caldecott Committee Lauren, Anduri Alan Bailey Brian Fahey Jill Bellomy Karen MacPherson Sarah Bean Thompson Tess Prendergast Tessa Michaelson-Schmidt 2016 Newbery Committee Allie Jane Bruce Cheryl Lee Christine Scheper Destinee Sutton Eric Barbus Joanna Ward Shawn Brommer Ty Burns 2016 Sibert Committee Alan Bern Eric Gomez Grace Ruth Nick Glass Susan Lempke 2017 Wilder Committee Maria Gentle Carolyn Phelan Kathleen Isaacs To learn more about ALA’s election results, please visit the ALA Election Information page.

ALA Midwinter 2013

Today’s the Day! #alamw13

The ALA Youth Media Awards will be announced this morning! There will also be a live webcast available. If you can’t be there in person and are not able to join the webcast, you can still follow results in real-time by logging on to the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page, or via Twitter by following hashtag #ALAyma. The program begins at 8:00 am PT. This is always a highlight of the Midwinter Conference for many, many children’s librarians. I can almost hear Seattle buzzing with discussions of favorite children’s books as librarians prepare to attend the announcements of the awards. The announcements are less than two hours away! Time to grab a quick breakfast and head to the Convention Center.

Blogger School-Age Programs and Service Committee

Mock Newbery Book Club

October still feels like the beginning of the school year, but it is approaching the end of the publishing year.  So for me, it is time to take stock of the year’s best books, and begin the process of narrowing the list to the 6-8 titles we will use with our annual Mock Newbery book club of 4th through 6th graders. Our Newbery club meets once per week, beginning in November culminating with a party following the announcement of the actual award (January28th this year) for a total of about eight to ten weekly meetings depending how the holidays land.  Attendance is nice for discussing the books, but not required to participate. Our meetings are held before school, and some of our truly avid readers stay up way too late to get to school early! Everyone participates by filling out a Newbery Club Score Card when they finish a book. …

ALA Midwinter 2012

Youth Media Awards at #alamw12

Once more, ALA’s Youth Media Awards — the crí¨me de la crí¨me of the children’s and YA book communities — met expectations. Early this morning, hundreds of young people’s literature enthusiasts filled the Dallas Convention Center Theater to hear the Awards announced. There were some surprises, but the committees had to feel good as they heard the shrieks of excitement as each award winner was made known. Want to see which titles won?  Click here for the official press release. Congratulations to all the winners. And THANK YOU  to all the committee members for your hard work! You are appreciated!

ALA Midwinter 2012

What have you read recently that’s great?

Each year at the midwinter ALA conference, a variety of children’s books and media awards are announced at the ALA Youth Media Awards. This press conference is attended by 1500 or so interested children’s librarians, book publicists, editors, and other children’s literature enthusiasts. It is the culmination of a year’s worth of reading by dedicated committees committed to selecting the best of the best. Called by some the “Oscars of children’s literature,” these awards create much speculation by book lovers around the country. Much of the fun of these awards is all the reading and talking in the months leading up to the announcements about the excellent new books being published.  The speculation about what might win these major awards — especially the Caldecott and the Newbery — has spawned a wide range of blogs and conjecture focusing on these topics. At my library, we use a Mock Caldecott blog…