Author Spotlight

Bryan Collier’s Lecture “Dreamwalker” Is Now Available for Viewing

The 2023 Children’s Literature Lecture Award featuring Bryan Collier has been posted to the ALSC website and is now available for viewing by members. Collier’s lecture entitled “Dreamwalker” is an insightful and fascinating presentation of how an illustrator’s skill creates picture books that can be read visually and with words. It was AH-MAZING! As an illustrator and author Collier offers firsthand details  about creating picture books that will enrich those of us who evaluate them, use them, and love them.

ALSC Bylaws

Add Your Voice to the ALSC Chorus!

Serving as the ALSC President for 2022-2023 has been a humbling experience in many ways, not the least of which is because every day I have reminders that it is the dedicated work and input of members–all volunteers!–that allows us to set, work toward, and accomplish our goals. It’s incredibly rewarding to see the ways in which members add their talents and voices to the whole–and I want to invite YOU to add your voice to the chorus as well!

Guest Blogger

2023 Children’s Literature Lecture

ALSC is proud to announce that the 2023 Children’s Literature Lecture will take place at University of Dayton, Ohio on Wednesday, April 12, 2023 in the Kennedy Union Ballroom. Author and illustrator Bryan Collier will give the 2023 Children’s Literature Lecture. The event will start at 6 P.M. with a reception and the lecture starting at 7 P.M. After the lecture, a book signing will be available.

Guest Blogger

Children’s Literature Lecture Award Nominations

The Children’s Literature Lecture Award Committee is seeking suggestions for our 2024 honoree (note: this is not the same as the Children’s Literature Legacy Award). The lecture will be given in 2024 at a site to be chosen next year. The lecturer may be an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children’s literature, of any country, who shall prepare a talk considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature. Recent past winners include Bryan Collier (at left), Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop, Neil Gaiman, Dr. Debbie Reese, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Jacqueline Woodson. The complete list of past lecturers is on the ALSC website. The nomination form is available online to ALSC members and the deadline for submissions is August 18.   The 2024 lecturer will be announced at the 2023 ALA LibLearnX Conference in January 2023 in New Orleans. For more details about the lecture, please visit the Children’s Literature Lecture Award site. (This piece originally appeared in The Horn Book Inc. Blog on…