Blogger Starr LaTronica

Looking Forward

Summer has always been my favorite time of year.  I begin looking forward to it at the first snowfall and I savor every moment once it finally arrives.  Fortunately, the days are longer to fit in the full flurry of fun–including extra time for reading.  Unfortunately, all that activity makes the days fly by, and here we are, already in August! For me, summer means ALA Annual Conference–a time to meet new colleagues and reconnect with old friends.  This year’s experience in Chicago was especially rewarding and inspiring.  In addition to the wonderful array of ALSC programs and events, including ALSC 101 and the celebration of 75th Anniversary of the Caldecott Medal, I was gratified by the consistent level of commitment my fellow members exhibited through their willingness to serve ALSC via committee work.  At every turn, there were volunteers eager to offer their time and expertise to advance ALSC’s…

ALSC Board

Save the Date: ALSC Community Forum, Feb. 26 & Mar. 6

The ALSC Board of Directors and ALSC President Carolyn Brodie will be hosting an ALSC Community Forum two live chats on the topic of eBooks and children’s services. In addition to the 45 minutes of discussion, these forums will include quick announcements from Midwinter and a time for questions at the end. Your two opportunities to join in the discussion are: Tuesday, February 26 at 4pm EST (3pm CST, 2pm MDT, 1pm PST) Wednesday, March 6 at 2pm EST (1pm CST, 12pm MDT, 11am PST) What’s my time zone? Members from the ALSC Children and Technology Committee and the ALSC Book Award Seals on E-book Versions will be on hand for the discussion and will submit questions raised by their groups in regard to eBooks. Members are encouraged to attend at either of these times or both. Can’t make it to either time? Even after the Forum ends, the conversation…

ALSC Board

Join in the Advocacy Discussion at ALSC Community Forum

The ALSC Board of Directors and ALSC President Carolyn Brodie will be hosting an ALSC Community Forum live chat during the first week of December. The first half of the hour will be an update of ALSC news, notes from the ALSC Fall Executive Board meeting and time for your questions. The second half of the hour will consist of a discussion on the topic of “advocacy.” Members of ALSC will be joined by the Advocacy and Legislation Committee for the discussion. Please join us at one of two Community Forums on ALSC’s ALA Connect site to share thoughts and ideas, ask and answer questions about advocacy, and join your colleagues from across the nation in conversation. In preparation you may review the 2012-2017 ALSC Strategic Plan at http://www.ala.org/alsc/aboutalsc/stratplan Your two opportunities to join us are: Monday, December 3 at 10am EST (9am CST, 8am MDT, 7am PST) Wednesday, December…

ALSC Board

On ALSC Membership and the Dues Proposal

It has been sixteen years since the last ALSC dues increase…. At the 2012 ALA Annual Conference, the ALSC Board of Directors discussed a proposal by the Budget Committee to implement a dues adjustment. There was a discussion on the proposed dues adjustment that took place during the ALSC Membership meeting in Anaheim. To address the Budget Committee’s proposal, the Board held ALSC Community Forums on August 8th and 9th. During the second half of these open meetings, we opened the discussion to members to give us their input on a possible change in the ALSC dues structure. In early August, the ALSC Budget Committee released the Dues Structure Change FAQ (log-in required) to introduce our members to the proposed dues increases and the new proposed member categories. To better understand the dues adjustment…please take time to read the thoughtfully prepared FAQ which includes considerations and cost thoughts provided by…

ALSC Board

Two Chances to Attend ALSC Community Forum

ALSC is hosting two Community Forums this week and all members are invited to attend! At the 2012 ALA Annual Conference, the ALSC Board of Directors discussed a proposal by the Budget Committee to implement a change in the ALSC dues structure. The Board of Directors and ALSC President Carolyn Brodie would like your input. Please join them at one of two Community Forums on ALSC’s ALA Connect site. Your two opportunities to join the conversation are: Wednesday, August 8 at 2 PM EST (1 PM CST, 12 PM MDT, 11 AM PST) Thursday, August 9 at 11 AM EST (10 AM CST, 9 AM CDT, 8 AM PST) The first half of the discussion will be a Board update from the 2012 ALA Annual Conference. The second half will include a discussion of a possible change in ALSC dues structure. Members are encouraged to attend at either of these…

Blogger Dan Bostrom

ALSC Community Forum – Wed., Feb. 22

Please save the date! Join ALSC President Mary Fellows and the ALSC Board on Wednesday, February 22 @ 10 AM ET for a ALSC Community Forum. This one-hour live-chat will take place on ALSC’s main page on ALA Connect. Board members will share ALSC division news from the Midwinter Meeting in Dallas and respond to questions. One of the main topics covered will be the possible re-structuring of the Membership Meeting at Annual Conference. You won’t want to miss it. ALSC Community Forum Wednesday, February 22 10 AM ET, 9 AM CT, 8 AM MT, 7 AM PT http://connect.ala.org/alsc Can’t make it? No problem! Post questions or comments for the board in the “Add a new comment” section of the Connect post. During the Forum, the ALSC Board will try to answer your question and afterward, a full-transcript of the chat will be posted.