Awards & Scholarships

The 2019 Batchelder Committee wants your help!

The 2019 Mildred L. Batchelder Award Committee is asking the ALSC membership to submit book titles for consideration.  The Batchelder Award is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding translated book of the year. Books eligible for the award are those originally published in a foreign country and subsequently published in English in the United States. For the complete terms and criteria, please refer to the ALSC website. The 2019 Batchelder Committee calls on ALSC personal members to submit titles for consideration. Please remember: Only books from the 2018 publishing year are under consideration for the award. Also, please note that publishers, authors, illustrators, or editors may not nominate their own titles. Please go to to post your suggestion. You will need to have your ALA login & password handy to access the suggestion forms. The submission deadline is…

ALSC Board

ALSC Awards Program Review Update

At the Midwinter Meeting 2018, the ALSC Board took action to establish a task force to review our awards program, beginning with the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award. The Awards Program Review Task Force is now underway, to bring recommendations regarding the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award to the Board at Annual Conference 2018.  Following Annual Conference, the task force will examine our other awards for discussion at Midwinter 2019. The task force’s exploration of the Wilder Award will include an online survey for members of ALSC and ALA ethnic affiliates to be announced this week (UPDATE March 27: the survey is now live here, open through April 8), and consultation with publishing representatives, relevant scholars and/or culturally proficient context experts as necessary, to fill gaps in knowledge regarding the impacts of the award as it is currently, and potential impacts for any changes. If the task force recommends changing the name…

Awards & Scholarships

Apply to Host the 2019 Arbuthnot Lecture with Debbie Reese!

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the 2019 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture Committee are proud to announce the opening of the application to host the 2019 event featuring scholar, blogger, and advocate for indigenous peoples, Debbie Reese PhD. The Arbuthnot Lecture is an annual event, announced at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, in which an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature presents a paper that makes a significant contribution to the field. A library school, department of education in a college or university or a children’s library system may be considered. The lecture is administered by ALSC. Apply Today! Host site application forms can be downloaded at Applications are due May 15, 2018. Information about host site responsibilities is included in the application materials. The lecture traditionally is held in April or early May. About Debbie Reese In February, Debbie Reese, PhD was selected by…

Awards & Scholarships

Hosting a Mock Award Discussion with Kids

The end of the year is approaching. For me, that means skyrocketing speculation about the Youth Media Awards (YMAs), which include the Newbery, Caldecott. I love pouring over year-end best of lists and reading as many 2017 books as I can. Another reason I look forward to this time of year: I love a good mock award discussion. For this blog, I’ll focus on different ways to host a mock award with school-age kids (for more on the benefits of hosting a blog for your colleagues, check out Amanda Foulk’s stellar post on Guessing Geisel).

Awards & Scholarships

Who Will Be the Next Distinguished Service Award Winner?

Bill Morris. Henrietta Smith. Mimi Kayden. Susan Roman. Kathleen T. Horning. Ellen Fader. What do these names have in common? Two were publishers; the others, librarians of all stripes: a Dean and association leader, a professor, a director of a special collection, and a public librarian. They, along with more than 20 other colleagues since 1992, are ALSC Distinguished Service Award winners!