Guest Blogger

Children’s Literature Lecture Award Nominations

The Children’s Literature Lecture Award Committee is seeking suggestions for our 2024 honoree (note: this is not the same as the Children’s Literature Legacy Award). The lecture will be given in 2024 at a site to be chosen next year.

The lecturer may be an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children’s literature, of any country, who shall prepare a talk considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature. Recent past winners include Bryan Collier (at left), Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop, Neil Gaiman, Dr. Debbie Reese, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Jacqueline Woodson. The complete list of past lecturers is on the ALSC website.

The nomination form is available online to ALSC members and the deadline for submissions is August 18.  

The 2024 lecturer will be announced at the 2023 ALA LibLearnX Conference in January 2023 in New Orleans. For more details about the lecture, please visit the Children’s Literature Lecture Award site.

(This piece originally appeared in The Horn Book Inc. Blog on 8/8/22)

Today’s guest blogger is Elissa Gershowitz. Elissa is a member of the Children’s Literature Lecture Award committee and the acting editor in chief / executive editor of The Horn Book, Inc. She holds an MA from the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons University and a BA from Oberlin College.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *