Awards & Scholarships

Finding the Next ALSC Distinguished Service Award Winner

The Professional Recognition and Scholarships Committee is seeking nominations from ALSC members for individuals who have “made significant contributions to, and an impact on, library service to children and ALSC.”

ALSC professional Awards logo used with the ALSC Distinguished Service Award

You may be wondering who qualifies for consideration. Well, beyond their contributions to the field, the main criteria are (1) that the person has devoted their work to children ages birth through fourteen and (2) they must be a current member of ALSC. 

These individuals can be: 

  • A librarian who works in a school or public library
  • An educator working in the library or information science field
  • A member of the library press
  • An employee of a publishing house
  • A retiree

Want to learn more? Visit the ALSC Distinguished Service Award page to see a full list of previous winners, watch the acceptance speeches of past winners like Liz McChesney, Dr. Claudette McLinn, and Maria B. Salvadore, and read about the award itself.

DSA Winners Collage

Ready to make your nomination? Fill out the form here.
Nominations must be submitted by December 10, 2021, to be considered.

With your help, we’ll be celebrating our newest DSA winner together at ALA Annual in June. Which, hopefully, will be in person in Washington D.C.

Mary Schreiber is a collection development specialist for Cuyahoga County Public Library, OH. She is writing this blog post on behalf of the ALSC Professional Recognition and Scholarships Committee. Mary can be reached at

Photo courtesy of CCPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *