Blogger School-Age Programs and Service Committee

Supporting school librarians as we serve our children in their educational pursuits

As many students are heading back to in-person and/or hybrid learning after a year of learning on-line, how can we support and collaborate with school librarians to make these transitions successful for our children? One of the easiest ways to support your school librarians is to educate yourself about the standards they use when teaching children. We know that teachers in every subject and discipline use standards that address exactly the concepts and skills a child needs to show learning and mastery in that subject. Just as there are standards for every educational subject, there are also national standards for librarians. 

In November 2017, and with over two years of data gathering and research, the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) introduced new standards for school librarians. As part of these standards they released, they included six commonly held beliefs that were adapted from previous standards. As part of the Learners’ framework, there are six shared foundations and key commitments, as well as four domains and competencies.

Shared Foundations, including the one-sentence key commitment of each

  1. Inquire
    • Build new knowledge by inquiring, thinking critically, identifying problems, and developing strategies for solving problems.
  2. Include
    • Show an understanding of and a commitment to inclusiveness and respect for diversity in the learning commitment.
  3. Collaborate
    • Work effectively with others to broaden perspectives and work towards common goals.
  4. Curate
    • Make meaning for oneself and others by collecting, organizing, and sharing resources of personal relevance
  5. Explore
    • Discover and innovate in a growth mindset developed through experience and reflection
  6. Engage
    • Show safe, legal, and ethical creating and sharing of knowledge products independently while engaging in a community of practice and an interconnected world.


  1. Think
    • Inquire, think critically and gain knowledge
  2. Create
    • Draw conclusions, make informed decisions, apply knowledge to new situations, and create new knowledge.
  3. Share
    • Share knowledge and take part ethically and productively as members of our democratic society.
  4. Grow
    • Pursue personal and aesthetic growth.

To learn more about the AASL standards, visit as you support your local school librarian and more importantly our children.


  • AASL Standards Framework for Learners. (n.d.).
  • Common beliefs. (2018, August 22). Retrieved March 01, 2021, from
  • National School Library Standards. (2021, January 11). Retrieved March 01, 2021, from

This post was written by Connie Poulsen-Hollin on behalf of the School-Age Programs and Services Committee. Connie Poulsen-Hollin has been a librarian for the past 13 years. First as an academic librarian, and now as a school librarian. She has served as the WYLA SLIG chair, as well as committees with AASL, ALSC and YALSA. She served as a member of the 2020 Michael l. Printz award and spends her free time with her two children Aylianna (14) and Charlie (12).

This post addresses the following ALSC Core Competencies: VII. Professionalism and Professional Development

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *