Awards & Scholarships

Suggest the 2015 Arbuthnot Lecturer!

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture is presented by ALSCALSC invites members to suggest names for the Arbuthnot Lectureship established in 1968 and given annually to honor May Hill Arbuthnot.

The award is given to an individual of distinction who shall prepare and present a paper which shall be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature. The individual should have made an impact on the world of children’s literature and has the potential to make an additional contribution to the field through the Lectureship. The Lecturer may be related to the field of children’s literature in any area: author, illustrator, editor, publisher, professor of children’s literature, reviewer, art director, etc. and need not be a resident or citizen of the United States.

In 2013, Michael Morpurgo will deliver the Arbuthnot Lecture at Nazareth College in Rochester, NY. In 2014, Andrea Davis Pickney will be the lecturer (location: TBA).

To suggest an individual for this award, please submit the following information: Name; professional title/occupation; biographical sketch; justification for consideration; and major publications of the individual in a Word attachment to chair Sue McCleaf Nespeca at Deadline for submission is April 15, 2013.

One comment

  1. Henrietta M. Smith - University of South Florida Tampa, FL

    I nominate Dr. Cora Dunkley PhD University of South Florida School of Information as the 2015 Arbuthnot Lecturer
    She has taught youth materials at all levels and has carried the message of Literature and Children to London and South Africa by special invitation. She is the present President of FAME (Florida Association of Media Specialists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *