Caldecott 75th Anniversary

Fall Trend: Mock Caldecott Is Hotter Than Mock Turtleneck

Are you looking for a great way to channel beginning-of-the-school-year energy with end-of-the-publishing-year enthusiasm?  Want to harness fall election buzz?  How about organizing a mock Caldecott Award experience for young library patrons?  With 2012-2013 being the 75th Anniversary of the Caldecott Award, what better way to celebrate this illustrious icon of children’s literature than to weigh in on favorites!

To help you organize your mock Caldecott (or Newbery) election, consider ordering ALSC’s Newbery and Caldecott Mock Election Tool Kit from the ALA store.  Act now and you can also receive archive access to Engelfried’s how-to webinar.  Whether your election focuses on 2012 titles or the entire body of Caldecott winners, involving children in the voting process is an exciting, informative, hands-on experience.

Not sure about a mock Caldecott but interested in other ways to celebrate?  Sign up for the “Expanding the Caldecott Experience: Programming with Caldecott Winning and Honor Books” webinar on Wednesday, February 20, 2013, at Noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain and 9 am Pacific time and Tuesday, April 9, 2013, 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, and 4 pm Pacific time.  Registration is FREE for ALSC members.  Registration for nonmembers is $55 for individuals and $195 for groups.

Whatever route you take, make sure the Caldecott 75th Anniversary is part of your fall line-up!

Photo source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *