Children's Literature (all forms)

2008 Carter G. Woodson Book Awards

In 1974, the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) created the Carter G. Woodson Book Award to “encourage the writing, publishing, and dissemination of outstanding social science books for young readers that treat topics related to ethnic minorities and relations sensitively and accurately.” An award book and an honor book are named in three levels. The titles selected by the 2008 committee are:

Elementary Level, Grades K — 6

2008 Award: Louis Sockalexis: Native American Baseball Pioneer
by Bill Wise, illustrated by Bill Farnsworth, Lee & Low Books, 2007

2008 Honor: Surfer of the Century: The Life of Duke Kahanamoku
by Ellie Crowe, illustrated by Richard Waldrep, Lee & Low Books, 2007

Middle Level, Grades 5 — 8

2008 Award: Black and White Airmen: Their True History
by John Fleischman, Houghton Mifflin, 2007

2008 Honor:
Sophisticated Ladies: The Great Women of Jazz

by Leslie Gourse, illustrated by Martin French, Dutton Children’s Books/Penguin Young Readers, 2007

Secondary Level, Grades 7 — 12

2008 Award: Don’t Throw Away Your Stick Till You Cross the River: The Journey of an Ordinary Man
by Vincent Collin Beach (with Anni Beach), Five Star Publications, 2007

2008 Honor: United States v. Amistad: Slave Ship Mutiny
by Susan Dudley Gold, Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, (part of the Supreme Court Milestones series) 2007

The NCSS posts a list of current and past award winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *