Blogger Pamela Groseclose

Falling for the Season : Fall Books and Programs for Tweens

Falling for the Season : Fall Books and Programs for Tweens

For months, my library’s regular tweens have been talking about Halloween costumes, sports games, and a countdown till holiday break. While we talked about these things, it always felt so far away.

It wasn’t until I was walking my family’s dog that the fall season came alive for me. Even though it was nearly 80 degrees, I looked up and saw that the trees had changed colors.

Fall is one of my favorite seasons, and it is a great reminder that we should appreciate change and transition. When it comes to tweens, this is especially true.

Much like the season, they are in transition too.  To help tweens deal with this transition, it can be helpful to celebrate what they are excited about with them. This helps them feel grounded and supported. Since my tweens were excited about fall, I needed to quickly come up with some fall programs. 

If you are like me, however, you might have lost track of time.  If you did, here are a couple of fall program ideas. 

 Fall Program Ideas for Tweens. 

(1) Upcycled: Not everyone has the materials to create a costume.   Invite participants to bring in old clothing to create a new costume or a cosplay outfit out of old clothes. If you need an extra hand, invite your teen volunteers to help!

(2) Spooky STEAM: nothing is more magical than science! Make slime, create a vinegar and baking soda mixture, and invite tweens to build a spooky house out of boxes or other materials.

Other ideas could include a Day of the Dead program where participants decorate sugar skulls or a National Cat Day program where you make DIY cat toys for your local humane society.

If you don’t have time to do a program, have no fear! You can also promote fall books for the season.  Below are just a few new middle-grade books perfect for fall. 

Fall Books for Tweens 

A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting

A Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting

by  Joe Ballarini

In this thrilling new middle-grade book, twelve-year-old Kelly babysits a little boy named Jacob on Halloween night. When monsters kidnap Jacob in the middle of the night, Kelly must work with a top secret group of monster hunter babysitters to get him back.  This book is the first of a series and it is filled with nonstop action and humor- perfect for fans of Rick Riodian. 

 

 

Night of the Living Cuddle Bunnies

Night of the Living Cuddle Bunnies

by Jonathan Rosen

The Cuddle Bunny is the hottest toy of the season, but twelve-year-old Devin could care less. That is until his younger sister gets one, and it comes to life. Devin must now destroy an army Cuddle Bunnies to save his town! This spooky book with a touch of humor is great for readers who enjoy Five Nights at Freddy’s.

 

Readers who enjoy these books might also enjoy  Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh, Elizabeth and Zenobia by Jessica Miller, The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken, and The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street by Lindsay Currie (available October 10th).

What types of programs or books are you excited about for your tweens this fall?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *