ALSC Online Courses, Publishing World, Webinars

Back-to-back ALSC Webinars and Fall 2011 Online Courses

In two weeks, ALSC is offering back-to-back – one on Tuesday, one on Wednesday – webinars which offer great back-to-school planning ideas. Both webinars are a fantastic way to open up the school-year and a gread lead-in to a new semester of ALSC online courses, which start September 26th! Leveling Easy Readers Tuesday, August 23, 2011 @ 1 PM CT (2 PM ET, 12 PM MT, 11 AM PT) Leveling Easy Readers is an examination of books focused on emergent literacy. In this webinar, participants learn the criteria for placing these materials in different levels. With strategies for selecting and organizing these materials, this session is highly valuable for children’s librarians. Newbery and Caldecott Mock Elections Toolkit Wednesday, August 24, 2011 @ 12 PM CT (1 PM ET, 11 AM MT, 10 AM PT) This webinar takes you behind the process of running a mock election at your library. Mock…

ALSC Online Courses, Early Literacy, Professional Development, Webinars

Leveling and Libraries

The questions are familiar to children’s librarians: – “Where are the ‘K’ books?” – “My son has a Lexile of 850. The teacher wants him to read a book on his level.” – “Can you tell me which book has the most points on the Accelerated Reader test?” These are examples of questions that result from instructional systems used by schools. These instructional programs incorporate leveling methods which attempt to identify books that match a student reading level. Leveling strategies are well documented for teachers and classrooms. Since 2008, I have been teaching an ALSC online course, Reading Instruction and Children’s Books. Librarians who enrolled in this course have explored methods of calculating readability using mathematical formulas such as this one: The mathematical formulas for calculating reading level are based on numbers such as word length, sentence length, sentences per paragraph and pages per book. Reading levels are communicated to…