New Great Web Sites for Kids

If you’re like me, you love learning about excellent web sites which you can explore and use with kids or suggest to their parents and teachers.  To help with this, ALSC has added more recommended websites to the Great Web Sites for Kids. This online resource contains hundreds of links to outstanding websites for children. Nineteen new sites have just been added:

4 2 Explore –  http://42explore.com/index.htm
A + Click Math Practice Tests – www.aplusclick.com
ARKive – www.arkive.org
Barbara McClintock – www.barbaramcclintockbooks.com
Clever Crazes for Kids – www.clevercrazes.com
Geigno’s World – www.geognos.com
ICivics – www.icivics.org
Imarbles – www.imarbles.com
Kids Astronomy – www.kidsastronomy.com
Kids Geo – www.kidsgeo.com
Learning Games for Kids – www.learninggamesforkids.com
Math Games from Sheppard’s Software – www.sheppardsoftware.com/math.htm
Ready Kids – www.ready.gov/kids
Spaghetti Book Club – www.spaghettibookclub.com
Sprout (PBS Kids) – www.sproutonline.com/sprout/home/jump.aspx
Stop Bullying Now – www.stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/kids
Story Snoops – www.storysnoops.com
Story Blocks – www.storyblocks.org
Try Science  – www.tryscience.org/home.html

The complete listing of great sites with annotations and selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites. Check it out! You’re sure to find something interesting and fun.

Thanks go to all the members of the 2010 Great Web Sites for Kids committee:

  • Meagan Albright, co-chair, Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center, Nova Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Carla Morris, co-chair, Provo City (Utah) Library
  • Ryan Baker, San Jose (Calif.) State University
  • Rachel Fryd, Free Library of Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Sharon Ledford, Harrison Elementary School, Lexington, Ky.
  • Beth Medley, Scottsdale (Ariz.) Public Library
  • Jacqueline Partch, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.
  • Amanda Sharpe, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Stephanie Simpson, Charlotte, N.C.

About Mary Voors

Mary R. Voors, the ALSC Blog Manager, is also the manager of the Children’s Services department of the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, Indiana where she has the opportunity to work with one of the greatest groups of people in the world.
This entry was posted in Blogger Mary R. Voors, Children's Literature (all forms), Committees, Evaluation of Media, Web site. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Great Web Sites for Kids

  1. Kelsey says:

    I’m currently an LS student at Indiana University and one of our class projects is to create or redesign a website. Naturally, I chose to redesign the children’s and teen web page sections of a public library. I’ve been browsing other public library web sites for ideas. But I’ve been looking looking looking and I can’t seem to find a collective list of outstanding children’s/teen library web pages. Does this exist? I saw that ACRL does a web site of the month, but does ALSC do something like this?

  2. Mary Voors says:

    Great Web Sites for Kids includes a section of “Great Library Sites.” You can find it by looking under the heading Reference Desk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>